Project Management Knowledge Base

Go Back   Project Management Knowledge Base > Peer Support > Other Tools

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2010, 04:33 AM
Forum Newbie

Question Looking for a Project Management Tool.

Hi People, I am a Dutch Business IT student and I am doing an assignment at a Dutch IT-company to graduate.

I am looking for a Project Management Tool, but on the internet there are way too many options for me to investigate.

I am looking for a tool the Project Managers can use to report information to the manager of the department (their manager). The information can be entered only by the Project Managers, because the developers have their own planning tools. In other words the PM's will keep obtaining their progress info just like they are doing now: chasing via phone and email.

I was hoping somebody on this forum may have tips for a Management Tool that has the following characteristics:
-The software provides reports to the department manager on issues, such as schedule, dealine and budget overruns, for multiple projects.
-Only the Project Managers use the tool as a log, the developers themselves dont enter data.

Hope you understand what I mean, (if not, ask and I will try to describe my problem a little clearer) and hope maybe one of you can give me an option to investigate!
Thank you for thinking along with me, Greets!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiNetscape this post!Stumble this Post!
Old 08-31-2010, 05:27 AM
Forum Newbie

Default PM Tool

Greetings from mid-America

If I understand you correctly then somthing like SharePoint might work for you. If I am not understanding you correctly send me a PM and we can have the discussion offline.

T
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiNetscape this post!Stumble this Post!
Old 09-01-2010, 04:55 AM
Forum Newbie

Quote from michprojman View Post:
Greetings from mid-America