Project Management Knowledge Base

Go Back   Project Management Knowledge Base > PMKB Community > Careers

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2006, 07:01 AM
Forum Newbie

PMP Exam Difficulty

Dear all

i am going to take the PMP exam

i want to know from the PMP , what is the degree of exam difficulty according to study material question such as rita book

are the exam questions harder than the questions in the study material , or the same . or easier

thank you
Old 04-05-2009, 08:56 AM
Forum Newbie

PMP Exam

I just sat for the exam and passed it last Friday 4/3/09.

Here is what I can tell you.

I have over 20 years of PM experience. In order to prepare for the exam, I started last August 2008....I studied for 8 months every night solid and more on the weekends.

I used the following materials as my guides:
- PMBOK
- Rita's materials ...all of them
- Paul Saghera' book
- Crosswind's ( from Tony Johnson) material
- PMP Exam Simulator (datbase of over 8000 questions)

I must also tell you that 10 days before the exam my kid brother passed away... so it was extremely difficult so concentrate

Nevertheless, here is what I can share .The actual test is randomly generated from a huge database. I found that there was a blend of medium and difficult questions. Very few questions were what I would call juvenile in nature.

What I found most difficult was not misunderstanding the questions, but selecting the proper anwers. Unlike the preparatory material, the questions were relatively starightforward.